Business e-mail compromise (BEC)

Recognize, Reject and Report it!

According to recent cybercrime statistics, BEC has stolen more than $5 billion dollars from unsuspecting victims worldwide, including Canadian businesses. BEC is the second highest for monetary loss out of over 40 fraud types reported to the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre (CAFC). It’s real, it’s growing, but with increased awareness, it can be prevented.

Recognize it!

What is BEC?

BEC, also known as CEO fraud, wire fraud, or business executive scam, is a sophisticated scheme that tricks a business into paying a sum of money to a fraudster. The BEC scheme is executed through the use of social engineeringFootnote 1 or computer intrusion techniques. Several types of BEC schemes have been observed in Canada:

Reject it!

How can I protect my business?

Other measures:

Report it!

How should my business respond?

1. If the e-mail is identified as fraudulent AFTER funds have been transferred:

A) Immediately report the incident to your financial institution. Share the following information:

B) Report the incident to local police. Identify the incident as “BEC” or wire fraud. The criminal code offences would be S. 380 (Fraud) of the Criminal Code of Canada (CCC) and/or S. 403 (Identity Fraud), CCC. This is NOT a civil matter. This also applies to cases of attempted BEC.

If a computer intrusion technique was attempted or used, there are additional criminal offences that have been committed such as S. 342.1, CCC (Unauthorized use of a computer) or S.430 (1.1), CCC (Mischief in relation to computer data). Be ready to share all details of the incident.

C) Consider developing a plan to respond to media inquiries about any potential loss.

D) Report the incident to the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre (CAFC) online 24/7, select “Report an Incident”, and the link to the “Fraud Reporting System (FRS)”, or alternatively call CAFC at 1-888495-8501, between 9:00 am and 4:45 pm EST Monday to Friday and;

E) Report the incident to the Canadian Cyber Incident Response Centre (CCIRC) via e-mail at: ps.cyberincident-cyberincident.sp@canada.ca, or visit the Canadian Cyber Incident Response Centre (CCIRC) for more information. CCIRC will assist in mitigation and prevention, especially in cases where a technical compromise may have occurred. Advise CCIRC whether the police have been contacted.

2. If the e-mail is identified as fraudulent BEFORE any funds are transferred:

3. If applicable to your business:

We strongly suggest that YOU REPORT THE INCIDENT for the following reasons:

Additional information can be found at:

Get Cyber Safe

Competition Bureau

FBI Internet Crime Complaint Centre (IC3)

Global Cyber Alliance

Date modified:

Courriels d'affaires compromis

Reconnaissez-les, rejetez-les et signalez-les!

Selon des statistiques récentes sur la cybercriminalité, les courriels d’affaires compromis sont à l’origine de vols totalisant plus de 5 milliards de dollars auprès de victimes sans méfiance du monde entier, y compris des entrepreneurs canadiensi. Selon le Centre antifraude du Canada (CAFC), il s’agit de la deuxième fraude en importance pour les pertes monétaires sur plus de quarante types de fraudes répertoriés. Cette fraude est réelle et en plein essor, mais elle peut être prévenue grâce à une sensibilisation accrue.

Reconnaissez-les!

Que sont les courriels d’affaires compromis?

Le courriel d’affaires compromis, aussi appelé fraude au président, fraude par virement bancaire ou arnaque des dirigeants d’entreprise, il s'agit d’une ruse complexe qui trompe une entreprise en lui faisant verser une somme d’argent à un fraudeur. Ce stratagème est réalisé à l’aide de techniques d’ingénierie socialeNote de bas de page 1 ou de techniques d’intrusion informatique. Plusieurs types de stratagèmes impliquant des courriels d’affaires compromis ont été observés au Canada :

Rejetez-les!!

Comment puis-je protéger mon entreprise?

Autres mesures

Signalez-les!

Comment mon entreprise doit-elle réagir?

1. Si le courriel est reconnu comme étant frauduleux APRÈS le transfert de fonds :

A) Signalez immédiatement l’incident à votre institution financière. Fournissez l’information suivante :

B) Signalez l’incident au service de police local. Indiquez qu’il s’agit d’une fraude par courriel d’affaires compromis ou d’une fraude par virement bancaire. Ce sont là des infractions en vertu de l’article 380 (Fraude) ou de l’article 403 (Fraude à l’identité) du Code criminel. Il ne s’agit PAS d’une affaire de nature civile. Cela s’applique également aux tentatives de fraude par courriel d’affaires compromis.

Si une technique d’intrusion électronique a été tentée ou utilisée, des infractions criminelles additionnelles ont été commises, notamment en vertu de l’article 342.1 (Utilisation non autorisée d’ordinateur) ou de l’article 430 (1.1) (Méfait à l’égard de données informatiques) du Code criminel. Soyez prêt à fournir tous les détails de l’incident.

C) Envisagez l'élaboration d'un plan pour répondre aux demandes des médias concernant toute perte financière.

D) Signalez l’incident au Centre antifraude du Canada (CAFC) en ligne, à tout moment, à l’adresse. Veuillez cliquer sur l’onglet « Signaler un incident » et ensuite sur le lien « Système de signalement des fraudes ». Vous pouvez aussi joindre le CAFC au 1-888-495-8501, de 9 h à 16 h 45 (HNE) du lundi au vendredi.

E) Signalez l’incident au Centre canadien de réponse aux incidents cybernétiques (CCRIC) ou par courriel à ps.cyberincident-cyberincident.sp@canada.ca. Le CCIRC aide à établir des mesures d’atténuation et de prévention, surtout dans les cas de fraude technologique. Indiquez au CCIRC si les services de police ont été prévenus.

2. Si le courriel est reconnu comme étant frauduleux AVANT le transfert de fonds:

3. Si applicable à votre entreprise:

Il est fortement recommandé de SIGNALER l’INCIDENT pour les raisons suivantes :

Pour en savoir davantage, consultez :

Pensez cybersécurité

Bureau de la concurrence

FBI Internet Crime Complaint Centre (IC3) (en anglais seulement)

Global Cyber Alliance (en anglais seulement)

Date de modification :