Prize scams


Canadians are solicited over the phone, email or social media and advised that they are the winner of a large lottery or sweepstake. Prior to receiving any winnings, they must first pay an upfront fee. No winnings are ever received.

The scammers constantly re-invent the wheel and come up with new twists to prey on potential victims. Recently, the CAFC has received reports where seniors receive a call from an individual who claims to represent "Reader's Digest" or "Publisher's Clearing House." Scammers advise that you have won a prize and in order to receive the winnings, you are required to pay a small advance fee to cover taxes or legal fees associated to the win. Scammers target seniors who do not use online banking services and use the financial information to take over their account which is then used to launder money and proceeds from other mass marketing fraud scams.

Warning signs - How to protect yourself

  • Known lottery and sweepstakes companies such as Reader's Digest and Publisher's Clearinghouse will never request money up front in order to receive a prize.
  • Any fees associated to winnings will never be paid through a money service business such as Western Union, MoneyGram or by loading funds to prepaid credit cards such as Green Dot.
  • Any unsolicited phone call advising that you have won a lottery is fake. The only way to participate in any foreign lottery is to go to the country of origin and purchase a ticket in person. A ticket cannot be purchased on your behalf.
  • Never give out personal information over the phone, no matter who the caller claims to represent.

Were you a victim?

Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre
Toll-free: 1-888-495-8501

Competition Bureau of Canada
Toll-free: 1-800-348-5358

Ontario Provincial Police
Toll-free: 1-888-310-1122

Financial Consumer Agency of Canada
Toll-free: 1-866-461-3222

Better Business Bureau
(BBB Locator Tool)


Fraud: Recognize, report and stop it!

Date modified:

Escroquerie de prix


Sollicités au téléphone, par courriel et dans les médias sociaux, les Canadiens se font annoncer qu'ils ont remporté un gros lot ou un prix important. Ils doivent d'abord payer des frais initiaux pour récolter leur prix, qui ne leur sera jamais remis.

Les fraudeurs trouvent sans cesse de nouveaux stratagèmes pour soutirer de l'argent à leurs victimes. Récemment, des aînés ont signalé au CAFC avoir reçu un appel d'un soi-disant représentant du Digest ou de la Publishers Clearing House. Les fraudeurs les informent qu'ils ont remporté un prix et qu'ils doivent payer de modestes frais initiaux correspondant aux taxes ou aux frais juridiques pour pouvoir obtenir leur prix. Les fraudeurs, qui ciblent des aînés qui n'ont pas recours aux services bancaires en ligne, se servent des données financières pour prendre le contrôle des comptes des victimes qu'ils utilisent ensuite pour blanchir de l'argent et des produits d'autres fraudes par marketing de masse.

Indices - Comment vous protéger

  • Les entreprises de loterie et de tirage de prix connues comme Reader's Digest et Publishers Clearing House ne demandent jamais aux gagnants d'envoyer de l'argent pour pouvoir récolter leur prix.
  • On ne demande jamais aux gagnants d'envoyer de l'argent par l'entremise d'une entreprise de transfert de fonds comme Western Union ou MoneyGram ou au moyen de cartes de crédit prépayées comme des cartes Green Dot.
  • Les appels non sollicités vous informant que vous avez gagné un gros lot sont frauduleux. La seule façon de participer à une loterie à l'étranger est de vous rendre dans le pays visé et d'acheter un billet en personne. Un billet de loterie ne peut pas être acheté en votre nom.
  • Ne donnez jamais de renseignements personnels au téléphone, peu importe l'entreprise que l'appelant affirme représenter.

Croyez-vous être victime?

Centre antifraude du Canada
Sans frais: 1-888-495-8501

Bureau de la concurrence du Canada
Sans frais: 1-800-348-5358

Police provinciale de l'Ontario
Sans frais: 1-888-310-1122

L'Agence de la consommation en
matière financière du Canada

Sans frais: 1-866-461-3222

Better Business Bureau
(Outil de recherche BBB, anglais seulement)


La fraude : Identifiez, signalez et enrayez-la!

Date de modification :