Scams targeting seniors

This fraud bulletin was prepared to outline these scams and provide warning signs that Canadians can use to recognize, reject and report.

Prize scams

Scammers constantly reinvent the wheel and come up with new ways to prey on potential victims. Older Canadians continue to receive phone calls, emails or messages through their social media accounts claiming they are the recipient of a large lottery or sweepstakes win. Prior to receiving any winnings, they must first pay a fee upfront. No winnings are ever received.

Scammers will use real company names like "Reader's Digest" and "Publisher's Clearing House" to instill confidence in the victim that the winnings are legitimate.

Warning signs - How to protect yourself

Emergency scams

Scammers use social media, the internet and direct calls to potentially target older Canadians with this scam. Potential victims receive a call claiming to be a family member or a close friend describing an urgent situation that requires immediate funds. Common themes have been that the family member was arrested or got into an accident while travelling abroad. Monies are required for hospital expenses, lawyer fees or bail. Usually the potential victim is instructed to send money via a money service business like Western Union or MoneyGram.

Warning signs - How to protect yourself

Romance scams

There are a growing number of older Canadians who are turning to the internet to find companionship and love. Unfortunately, scammers know this and use every type of dating or social networking site available to seek out potential victims.

The scammer will gain the trust of the victim through displays of affection and will communicate via phone, skype and email for months if needed to build trust. The scammer will often claim to be working abroad, usually in a lucrative business venture. Eventually the scammer will want to meet with the victim in person. It is at this time that the scammer will inform they can't afford to travel and will ask for money to cover travel costs. Other variations include the scammer claiming that there is a medical emergency with a sick family member and will ask for money to cover medical expenses.

Warning signs - How to protect yourself

Date modified:

Escroqueries ciblant les aînés

Le présent bulletin vise à décrire ces fraudes et à donner aux Canadiens des indices dont ils pourront se servir pour les reconnaître, les signaler et les enrayer.

Escroqueries de prix

Les fraudeurs trouvent sans cesse de nouveaux stratagèmes pour soutirer de l'argent à leurs victimes. Les Canadiens plus âgés continuent de se faire annoncer par téléphone, par courriel et dans les médias sociaux qu’ils ont gagné un gros lot ou un prix important. Ils doivent d’abord payer des frais initiaux pour récolter leur prix, qui ne leur sera jamais remis.

Les fraudeurs utiliseront des noms de véritables entreprises comme Sélection du Reader’s Digest et Publishers Clearing House pour inspirer la confiance des victimes et les convaincre de la légitimité du prix.

Indices – Comment vous protéger :

Escroquerie du besoin urgent d'argent

Les fraudeurs se servent des médias sociaux, d’Internet et du téléphone pour cibler des aînés et leur demander de l'argent. La victime reçoit un appel d'une personne qui prétend être un membre ou un proche de la famille. On l'informe d'une situation urgente qui nécessite qu'elle fournisse de l'argent immédiatement. Parmi les situations les plus couramment invoquées, mentionnons le membre de la famille qui a été arrêté ou qui a eu un accident pendant un voyage à l’étranger. L’argent demandé vise à payer les frais d’hospitalisation, les honoraires d’avocat ou la caution. En règle générale, on demande à la victime potentielle d’envoyer de l’argent par l’entremise d’une entreprise de transfert de fonds comme Western Union ou MoneyGram.

Indices – Comment vous protéger :

Stratagème de rencontre

De plus en plus d’aînés cherchent à trouver l’amour ou de la compagnie sur Internet. Malheureusement, les fraudeurs le savent et utilisent tous les types de sites de rencontre et de réseautage social pour faire des victimes.

Le fraudeur gagne la confiance de la victime en se montrant affectueux envers elle. Il communique avec elle par téléphone, par Skype et par courriel pendant des mois s’il le faut pour établir cette confiance. Le fraudeur affirme souvent travailler à l'étranger, généralement dans une entreprise lucrative. Au bout d'un certain temps, le fraudeur veut rencontrer la victime en personne. Le moment venu, il informe la victime qu’il ne peut pas payer les frais de voyage et il lui demande de l’argent pour les régler. D’autres scénarios possibles : le fraudeur prétend qu’il y a une urgence médicale pour un membre malade de sa famille et demande de l’argent pour payer les frais médicaux..

Indices – Comment vous protéger

Date de modification :