Charity/donation scams

These scams involve any false, deceptive, misleading or fraudulent solicitation for a donation to a charity, association, federation or religious cause. Scam artists hope to profit from people's generosity and compassion for others in need. As a result, the CAFC reminds Canadians to be wary of charity scams.

Warning sign(s) - How to protect yourself

  • Refuse high-pressure requests for donations. Legitimate charities will not push you to donate on the spot.
  • Ask for written information about the charity, including name, address and telephone number. A legitimate charity or fundraiser will give you information about the charity's mission, how your donation will be used and proof that your contribution is tax deductible.
  • Ask the solicitor for the registered charitable tax number of the charity. Question any discrepancies. Confirm the charity's registration information through the Canada Revenue Agency (1-800-267-2384) or online.
  • If someone comes to your door asking for a donation, ask the collector for details about the charity such as its full name, address and how the proceeds will be used. If they become defensive and cannot answer your questions, close the door.
  • The best way to avoid charity scams is to make a list of the charities that are most important to you, research them thoroughly and then donate directly.

Were you a victim?

Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre
Toll-free: 1-888-495-8501

Competition Bureau of Canada
Toll-free: 1-800-348-5358

Ontario Provincial Police
Toll-free: 1-888-310-1122

Financial Consumer Agency of Canada
Toll-free: 1-866-461-3222

Better Business Bureau
(BBB Locator Tool)


Fraud: Recognize, report and stop it!

Date modified:

Fraudes relatives aux dons et aux organismes de bienfaisance

Ces fraudes impliquent toute sollicitation fausse ou trompeuse où il faut faire un don à un organisme de bienfaisance, à une association, à une fédération ou à une cause religieuse. Les fraudeurs espèrent profiter de la générosité des gens et de leur compassion pour les personnes dans le besoin. Le Centre antifraude du Canada (CAFC) tient donc à rappeler aux Canadiens de rester méfiants à l'égard de ce genre de fraude.

Indices – Comment vous protéger :

  • Refusez de répondre par l'affirmative à toute demande de dons trop insistante. Les organismes légitimes de collecte de dons ne vous pousseront pas à donner sur-le-champ.
  • Demandez des renseignements écrits au sujet de l’organisme, notamment le nom, l’adresse et le numéro de téléphone. Un organisme de bienfaisance ou de collecte de dons légitime vous informera sur sa mission et sur la façon dont seront utilisés les dons, et vous expliquera que votre don est déductible.
  • Demandez le numéro d'enregistrement de l'organisme de bienfaisance. Mettez en doute toute divergence. Communiquez avec l'Agence du revenu du Canada au 1-800-267-2384 ou consultez le site Web.
  • Si quelqu’un se présente à votre porte pour recueillir un don, demandez-lui de donner des détails sur l'organisme, comme le nom complet, l’adresse et la façon dont les dons seront utilisés. S’il adopte une attitude défensive et est incapable de répondre à vos questions, fermez la porte.
  • La meilleure façon d'éviter les fraudes relatives aux organismes de bienfaisance est de dresser une liste des organismes les plus importants pour vous, d’effectuer des recherches approfondies sur eux puis de leur faire un don directement.

Croyez-vous être victime?

Centre antifraude du Canada
Sans frais: 1-888-495-8501

Bureau de la concurrence du Canada
Sans frais: 1-800-348-5358

Police provinciale de l'Ontario
Sans frais: 1-888-310-1122

L'Agence de la consommation en
matière financière du Canada

Sans frais: 1-866-461-3222

Better Business Bureau
(Outil de recherche BBB, anglais seulement)


La fraude : Identifiez, signalez et enrayez-la!

Date de modification :