Romance scams


Overview

Any individual with false romantic intentions towards a victim and by gaining their affection and trust (sometimes with the promise of marriage) gain access to the victim's money, bank account, credit cards or in some cases by getting the victims (usually unknowingly) to commit fraud on their behalf.

In 2011, Romance scams emerged as highest grossing scam, with over 12 million in losses reported by Canadians. This scam has also lead to incidents of suicide in cases where victims have lost their life saving and have been emotionally destroyed.

These scams have proliferated with the increase use of social media – social networking sites and dating sites. These sites are most common with scams that require a level of trust between the victim and the fraudster.

In the Romance scam the fraudsters have demonstrated that they are willing to develop the relationship over extended periods of time. This increases the trust level between the victim and fraudster and will result in higher dollar losses. This also results in a negative social impact on the victim as they have developed emotional and psychological attachment to the fraudster.

Generally, Romance scams involve the victim and the fraudster meeting through a social networking site. The fraudster will gain the trust of the victim through displays of affection. While the fraudster is usually located in a far away country, eventually want to meet the victim in person. It is at this time the fraudster will advise they can't afford to travel and will seek assistance from the victim in covering travel cost. Other variations include the fraudster presenting situations of emergency/ urgency, such as a sick family member, and seeking financial assistance from the victim for various costs.

Some incidents have also occurred at the local level and involved the victims actually meeting the suspects to go out on dates and meeting at the victim residence. These cases are creating concerns for personal safety. For example, in one incident the victim reported having her wallet and some jewellery stolen from home.

Warning sign(s) - How to protect yourself

  • Distressed citizen worried about a loved one.
  • Talking about good friend or loved one in another country that is coming to visit or needs help.
  • Mentions Western Union or MoneyGram.
  • Frequenting the bank more often.
  • Making unusual withdrawals both in amounts and frequency.
  • Making multiple withdrawals ranging from $500‐ $3000 in Cash.
  • Making large dollar wire transfers to countries in Africa, Asia or Eastern Europe.

Were you a victim?

Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre
Toll-free: 1-888-495-8501

Competition Bureau of Canada
Toll-free: 1-800-348-5358

Ontario Provincial Police
Toll-free: 1-888-310-1122

Financial Consumer Agency of Canada
Toll-free: 1-866-461-3222

Better Business Bureau
(BBB Locator Tool)


Fraud: Recognize, report and stop it!

Date modified:

Arnaque sentimentale


Objet

Toute personne manifestant un faux attachement sentimental envers une victime et qui, en gagnant son affection et sa confiance (parfois avec la promesse d'un mariage), réussit à lui soutirer de l'argent, à accéder à son compte bancaire, à obtenir ses numéros de carte de crédit et parfois à lui faire commettre une fraude (habituellement à son insu) afin de s'enrichir à ses dépens.

En 2011, le stratagème de rencontre a causé des pertes financières énormes pour les victimes avec plus de 12 millions de dollars en pertes déclarées par les Canadiens. Ce stratagème a mené plusieurs victimes à considérer le suicide après avoir perdu toutes leurs économies, et après avoir été complètement démoli sur le plan émotif.

Ces escroqueries se sont multipliées avec l'utilisation accrue des médias sociaux ‐ les sites de réseautage sociaux et sites de rencontres. Ces sites sont les plus courantes avec des arnaques qui nécessitent un niveau de confiance entre la victime et le fraudeur.

Ce stratagème a démontré que les fraudeurs sont prêts à consacrer plusieurs mois à nouer une relation avec la victime ciblée. Cela a pour but d'augmenter le niveau de confiance entre la victime et le fraudeur, et finira habituellement par entrainer des pertes financières énormes. Cette arnaque cause un impact social négatif sur la victime car ils ont développé un attachement émotionnel et psychologique avec le fraudeur.

Souvent, le fraudeur rencontre sa victime sur un site de réseautage social et gagne la confiance de celle‐ci, bien souvent en se montrant affectueux envers elle. En règle générale, il habite dans un pays lointain et cherchera tôt ou tard à rencontrer sa victime en personne. Le moment venu, il informera la victime qu'il ne peut pas se payer un voyage et il lui demandera de l'aider à régler les frais de voyage. Il existe d'autres variantes: le fraudeur peut notamment évoquer une urgence, comme un parent malade, pour demander à la victime de l'aider à payer divers frais.

Certains incidents ont également eu lieu au Canada et les victimes sont sorties ensemble avec le suspect et les victimes les ont même invités chez eux. Ces cas sont une source de préoccupation pour la sécurité personnelle de ces gens. Par exemple, dans un incident, la victime a déclaré son portefeuille et bijoux volés de la maison.

Indice(s) - comment vous protéger

  • Personne en détresse qui s'inquiète d'un proche.
  • Elle parle d'un bon ami ou d'un être cher à l'étranger qui lui rendra visite ou qui a besoin d'aide.
  • La victime fait mention de Western Union ou de MoneyGram.
  • Elle se rend à la banque plus souvent.
  • La fréquence et les montants des retraits de la victime sont inhabituels.
  • Elle fait plusieurs retraits en espèces dont les montants varient entre 500 $ et 3 000 $.
  • La victime envoie d'importantes sommes par virement dans des pays d'Afrique, d'Asie et de l'Europe de l'Est.

Croyez-vous être victime?

Centre antifraude du Canada
Sans frais: 1-888-495-8501

Bureau de la concurrence du Canada
Sans frais: 1-800-348-5358

Police provinciale de l'Ontario
Sans frais: 1-888-310-1122

L'Agence de la consommation en
matière financière du Canada

Sans frais: 1-866-461-3222

Better Business Bureau
(Outil de recherche BBB, anglais seulement)


La fraude : Identifiez, signalez et enrayez-la!

Date de modification :