Search

Spear phishing

Scam medium:

  • Email and text
  • Phone and fax

Targeting:

  • Businesses

Spear phishing scams involve scammers pretending to be from legitimate sources to convince businesses or individuals to send them money. These scams leverage existing relationships between the person receiving the email and the person sending it. The sender's address appears to be the actual email address of the source they're pretending to be, a tactic known as spoofing. Many variations have been reported to us, including:

Business executive spoofs

Gift card variation

A scammer sends an employee an email that appears to come from the owner, the president or another high-ranking employee. The email claims the boss is working offsite and needs help to buy gift cards for employee rewards or birthday gifts.

Wire transfer variation

In this variation, the email directs the employee to send an urgent, large wire transfer (e.g., more than $100,000) to a foreign account.

Financial industry client spoof

A scammer targets financial institutions, investment brokers and financial dealers with a spoofed email that appears to come from an existing client. The email directs the business to do an urgent wire transfer, usually to a foreign account.

Head office spoof

A scammer calls a franchise business and claims be from the head office. They tell the employee who answers the phone that there are problems with one of the financial products offered, such as gift cards or money transfer services. They ask the employee to select some prepaid cards, activate them, and provide them to the scammer. The scammer may also ask them to conduct a series of money transfers.

Payroll spoof

A scammer sends an email that appears to come from an existing employee. They request a change to the employee's direct deposit information. This tricks the company into depositing the employee's paycheque into a fraudulent account.

Supplier/contractor swindle

A scammer targets businesses that have an existing relationship with a supplier, wholesaler or contractors. They send a spoofed email informing the business of a change in payment details. The email provides new banking information. It requests that the business make future payments to this "new" account.

Date modified:

Harponnage

Moyens utilisés :

  • Courriel et texto
  • Téléphone et télécopieur

Fraude ciblant :

  • Les entreprises

Dans les stratagèmes de harponnage, les fraudeurs envoient des courriels qui semblent provenir d'une source légitime pour convaincre des entreprises ou des particuliers de leur envoyer de l'argent. Ils exploitent les relations existantes entre le destinataire et l'expéditeur du message. L'adresse de courriel utilisée par le fraudeur semble être l'adresse réelle de l'expéditeur. C'est ce qu'on appelle une mystification. Diverses variantes de ce stratagème nous ont été signalées, notamment :

Dirigeants d'entreprise

Variante – fraude par cartes-cadeaux

Un fraudeur envoie à un employé un courriel qui semble provenir du propriétaire, du président ou d'un autre employé haut placé. Le courriel indique que le patron travaille à l'extérieur et qu'il a besoin d'aide pour acheter des cartes-cadeaux à donner comme récompense ou comme cadeau de fête aux employés.

Variante – virement électronique

Dans cette variante, le courriel ordonne à l'employé d'effectuer un gros virement électronique urgent (plus de 100 000 $) dans un compte à l'étranger.

Fournisseur ou entrepreneur

Un fraudeur cible une entreprise qui entretient une relation avec un fournisseur, un grossiste ou des entrepreneurs. Il envoie un faux courriel informant l'entreprise d'un changement touchant les modalités de paiement. Dans le courriel, on précise les nouveaux détails bancaires et on demande à l'entreprise de verser les prochains paiements dans le « nouveau » compte.

Paie

Un fraudeur envoie un courriel qui semble provenir d'un employé actuel. Il demande une modification de ses données pour le dépôt direct et amène ainsi l'entreprise à déposer les chèques de paie de l'employé dans un compte frauduleux.

Secteur financier

Un fraudeur envoie à une institution financière, à un courtier en placement ou à un courtier en valeurs mobilières un message mystifié qui semble provenir d'un client actuel. Dans le courriel, on demande à l'entreprise d'effectuer un virement électronique urgent, habituellement dans un compte à l'étranger.

Siège social

Un fraudeur appelle une franchise et prétend travailler au siège social. Il dit à l'employé qui répond qu'il y a des problèmes avec un des produits financiers offerts, comme les cartes-cadeaux ou les services de transfert de fonds. Il lui demande de sélectionner des cartes prépayées, de les activer et de les lui fournir. Le fraudeur peut aussi lui demander d'effectuer une série de virements de fonds.

Date de modification :