About the CAFC

Mission of the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre

The CAFC is Canada's central repository for data, intelligence and resource material as it relates to fraud. The CAFC commits to providing timely, accurate and useful information to assist citizens, businesses, law enforcement and governments in Canada and around the world. The CAFC's primary goals are prevention through education and awareness, disruption of criminal activities, dissemination of intelligence, support to law enforcement and strengthening partnerships between the private and public sectors with the aim of maintaining Canada's strong economic integrity.

Vision of the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre

The CAFC will:

Governance of the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre

The CAFC is jointly managed by the RCMP, Competition Bureau, and the OPP. The Joint Management Team (JMT) meets bi-annually to discuss strategic guidance and direction in line with the Mission and Vision statements of the CAFC. Day-to-day operations are led by the RCMP.

The CAFC is divided into three key function areas:

Call Centre & Intake Unit (CCIU)

How to report fraud:

Senior Support Unit (SSU - Prevention and Education of Seniors by Senior Volunteers

Seniors are targeted for many reasons: loneliness, lack of family support, age vulnerability and for health-related reasons such as Alzheimer's. Seniors are particularly susceptible to fraud schemes because their generation tends to be more trusting and less likely to end conversations. Fraudulent telemarketers build relationships with seniors and gain their trust before victimizing them. Ruined family lives, great financial losses and suicides have resulted from this brutal crime against the elderly.

Unfortunately, staff at the CAFC found they had neither the time nor the resources to follow up with victimized seniors so the Centre decided to enlist volunteer seniors who could help with the battle against mass marketing and identity fraud. The volunteers were able to relate personal experiences, provide support and establish rapport with elderly victims. The "seniors helping seniors" program was named SeniorBusters.

SeniorBusters was officially launched by Premier Mike Harris in October 1997. Since then, it has grown to a group of approximately 50 active volunteers. They come from diverse backgrounds and bring many different skills to the CAFC and its attempt to reduce the level of mass marketing fraud and identity theft. This is clearly a successful and effective long-term strategy in reducing the number of seniors victimized by fraud.

SeniorBusters helps fraud victims by:

RCMP Commissioner's Volunteer Award

SENIORBUSTERS was honored to receive RCMP Commissioner's Volunteer Award in recognition of their dedication of service and support for the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre.

Operational Support Unit (OSU - Intelligence, Disruption, Prevention and Education)

The Operational Support Unit (OSU) is a multi-facetted unit whose primary role is to facilitate or support efforts to reduce mass marketing fraud and identity crimes. This is done by assessing the information gathered by the CAFC intake center in order to determine the most effective mitigation strategy. This includes: developing intelligence and investigative packages; preparing fraud prevention and awareness messaging; and advancing alternative measures for fraud reduction.

The CAFC's Operational Support Unit (OSU) is divided into three components:

1) Intelligence

OSU Analysts are responsible for collecting, collating, analyzing information gathered by the CAFC's intake centre in order to increase the understanding of Mass Marketing Fraud (MMF). More specifically, the intelligence function prepares and disseminates intelligence briefs; investigative packages; statistical packages; and complaint information to the police of jurisdiction and/or existing partnerships and taskforces in Canada which are actively investigating MMF.

2) Disruption

Canadian financial institutions, telephone providers, internet service providers, email providers, intellectual property holders and mail or delivery agencies; all have a vested interest in protecting Canadians from crimes that abuse their services and good names.

The CAFC has developed alternative measures that reduce the impact of MMF on Canada's global economy. By working with these private and public sector partners, the CAFC has been able to strategically target and limit the criminals' ability to communicate with intended victims and their ability to receive and launder victim funds.

Private and public sector partnerships assist in the reduction of victimization, the development of intelligence, and the disruption of criminal activities.

3) Prevention and Education

Prevention is often understood as the most effective way to reduce MMF and other financial motivated crimes. One of the CAFC's goals is to make Canada the most educated country when it comes to scams and frauds.

In order to accomplish this, the OSU along with the CAFC SeniorBusters program, organizes and participates in numerous fraud awareness campaigns. This includes conducting webinars and presentations; maintaining Twitter and Facebook accounts; and actively engaging Canadian media outlets to spread the key fraud prevention messages.

A Brief History of the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre

In 1993 a member of the Ontario Provincial Police (OPP) Anti-Rackets Branch stationed in North Bay, Ontario started "Project PhoneBusters" with a local member of the RCMP. The Project was intended to enter data in a central database from victims of a new emerging problem in North Bay called Telemarketing Scams and attempt to prosecute the perpetrators. It wasn't long before the two realized the scope of the problem was much greater than just North Bay. By 1997 PhoneBusters had added Call-Takers as calls were coming in from across Canada. As well, it became apparent there was a need to provide victim assistance and as a result, the SeniorBusters program was created. SeniorBusters are volunteers who are seniors themselves and provide support and assistance to those who are most vulnerable.

In 2001 the RCMP formalized their participation in PhoneBusters through a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) and PhoneBusters was renamed the PhoneBusters National Call Centre (PNCC). In 2002 an analytics component was added to the Intelligence Unit in order to add value to the data the PNCC was collecting. In 2006 the Competition Bureau Canada (Competition Bureau) formalized its participation as the third partner in the PNCC, adding deceptive marketing practices to the mandate. Also in 2006, the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police, through Resolution #9, formally recognized the PNCC as Canada's central fraud repository.

Near the end of 2009 PNCC added disruption initiatives to its efforts to combat fraud and began partnering with businesses in the private sector as a means of making it difficult for fraudsters to operate.

In 2010 the PNCC was renamed the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre (CAFC) in an effort to both identify the national nature of the CAFC and the fact that its mandate had stretched well beyond Telemarketing Fraud to include many forms of mass marketing fraud. A new logo was added along with completely redesigned webpages to capture the new look and mandate.

The CAFC annually forwards an average of 5,800 telephone numbers and 16,000 e-mail accounts being used by scammers to service providers for review and possible termination. Other disruption efforts include nearly 800 credit card merchant accounts, 9,000 credit card accounts, 1,000 bank accounts, 120 websites and 230 online classified ad accounts that have been forwarded yearly since 2010 to the appropriate service provider for action. Working with Industry partners has prevented tens of thousands of victims and avoided millions of dollars in losses.

Today the CAFC is world renowned for best practices and has been the inspiration for many countries to establish their own national centralized fraud data repositories. The CAFC fields calls from Canadians and others around the world totaling more than 150,000 calls for service generating more than 50,000 complaints by telephone from victims annually. The CAFC also receives approximately 1,200 e-mail submissions daily.

Date modified:

Au sujet du CAFC


Mission du Centre antifraude du Canada

Le Centre antifraude du Canada (CAFC) est le dépôt central des données, des renseignements et de la documentation sur la fraude au Canada. Il s'engage à fournir de l'information à jour, exacte et utile pour aider les particuliers, les entreprises, les organismes d'application de la loi et les gouvernements au pays et à l'étranger. Le CAFC vise principalement à faire de la prévention par la sensibilisation, à perturber les activités criminelles, à diffuser des renseignements, à fournir de l'aide en matière d'application de la loi et à renforcer les partenariats entre les secteurs public et privé en vue de maintenir l'intégrité économique du Canada.

Vision du Centre antifraude du Canada

Le CAFC entend:

Gouvernance du CAFC

Le CAFC est géré conjointement par la GRC, le Bureau de la concurrence du Canada et l'OPP. L'équipe de cogestion se réunit semestriellement pour aborder les questions de conseils et d'orientation stratégique en conformité avec les énoncés de mission et de vision du CAFC. Les activités quotidiennes sont gérées par la GRC. Le CAFC compte trois secteurs d'activité distincts:

Centre d'appels et Unité de Réception des plaintes (CCIU)

Comment signaler une fraude:

L'Unité de support aux aînés (prévention et sensibilisation des aînés par des aînés bénévoles)

Les aînés sont ciblés pour maintes raisons, par exemple : l'isolement, le manque d'appui familial, l'âge, la vulnérabilité, les raisons liées à la santé (comme l'Alzheimer). Les aînés sont particulièrement vulnérables à la fraude téléphonique parce qu'ils ont tendance à faire davantage confiance aux gens et sont moins susceptibles de raccrocher si la personne qui les appelle paraît très sympathique. Ce genre de crime peut causer de la mésentente dans une famille, entraîner de lourdes pertes financières et même conduire au suicide.

Malheureusement, le centre n'a pas les ressources pour efffectuer un suivit auprès des victimes. Il fut donc décidé de recruter des volontaires aînés afin de nous assister dans notre lutte contre le marketing de masse et le vol d'identité. Les volontaires non seulement apportent support et courage mais peuvent également relater leur experiences personnelles ce qui, on espère, créera un rapprochement plus solide que celui préalablement créé avec le fraudeur. Le programme d'aide entre personnes ainés fut nommé Senior Buster.

Ces bénévoles viennent de divers milieux et apportent des compétences très variées aidant SeniorBusters dans ses efforts en vue de réduire le nombre de cas de fraude téléphonique dont sont victimes les aînés. SeniorBusters communique avec les membres de la famille, les services de police locaux et les comités d'aide aux aînés, et peut fournir aux personnes âgées les outils dont elles ont besoin pour se prémunir contre ce genre de crime.

SeniorBusters...

SENIORBUSTERS a eu l'honneur de recevoir le prix des bénévoles du Commissaire de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada

SENIORBUSTERS a eu l'honneur de recevoir le prix des bénévoles du Commissaire de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada en reconnaissance de leur service dévoué et de leur support au Centre antifraude du Canada.

Groupe du soutien opérationnel (GSO) (renseignement, perturbation, prévention et sensibilisation).

Le Groupe du soutien opérationnel (GSO) est un groupe polyvalent dont le rôle principal consiste à faciliter ou à soutenir les efforts de lutte contre la fraude par marketing de masse et les crimes contre l'identité. Pour ce faire, il évalue les informations recueillies par le Centre antifraude du Canada (CAFC) en vue de déterminer la stratégie de lutte la plus efficace. Cela comprend l'élaboration de renseignements et de trousses d'enquête; la préparation de messages de prévention et de sensibilisation à la fraude; et la proposition d'autres mesures de réduction des fraudes.

Le GSO du CAFC se divise en trois éléments:

1) Renseignement

Les analystes du GSO sont responsables de recueillir, de rassembler et d'analyser l'information communiquée au centre de signalement du CAFC, en vue de parvenir à une meilleure compréhension des fraudes par marketing de masse (FMM). Plus précisément, la fonction de renseignement prépare et diffuse des notes de renseignements, des trousses d'enquête, des ensembles statistiques et des informations sur les plaintes au service de police compétent ou aux partenaires et aux groupes de travail au Canada qui enquêtent activement sur la FMM.

2) Perturbation

Les institutions financières canadiennes, les fournisseurs de service téléphonique, les fournisseurs de services Internet, les fournisseurs de courriel, les titulaires de propriété intellectuelle et les services de livraison ou de distribution postale ont tout intérêt à protéger les Canadiens contre les crimes qui abusent de leurs services et nuisent à leur réputation.

Le CAFC a mis en œuvre d'autres mesures en vue de réduire l'effet de la FMM sur l'économie canadienne. En collaborant avec ces partenaires des secteurs public et privé, le CAFC est parvenu à cibler stratégiquement et à limiter la capacité des criminels à communiquer avec leurs victimes et à recevoir et à blanchir l'argent des victimes.

Ces partenariats avec le secteur public et privé contribuent à réduire le nombre de victimes, à produire des renseignements et à perturber les activités criminelles.

3) Prévention et sensibilisation

La prévention est souvent considérée comme le moyen le plus efficace pour réduire la FMM et les autres crimes motivés par l'appât du gain. L'un des buts du CAFC est de faire du Canada le pays le mieux sensibilisé aux escroqueries et aux fraudes.

Pour ce faire, le GSO et le programme SeniorBusters du CAFC organisent de nombreuses campagnes de sensibilisation à la fraude et y participent. Il s'agit notamment de la présentation de séminaires Web et d'exposés, de la tenue de sites Twitter et Facebook, et de la mobilisation de médias canadiens en vue de la diffusion d'importants messages sur la prévention de la fraude.

Le CAFC – bref historique

En 1993, un membre de la Direction de la lutte contre les escroqueries de la Police provinciale de l'Ontario (PPO) à North Bay (Ontario) lance le projet PhoneBusters avec un membre de la GRC de la localité. Le projet vise à verser des données dans une base centrale sur les victimes d'un nouveau problème, la fraude par télémarketing, et à poursuivre les auteurs de ce crime. Les deux policiers ont tôt fait de comprendre que le problème ne se confine pas au territoire de la ville. À compter de 1997, le projet PhoneBusters met sur pied un centre d'appels pour répondre aux demandes affluant des quatre coins du pays. En outre, il devient apparent qu'il faille offrir un soutien aux victimes; c'est alors qu'on crée le programme SeniorBusters, constitué d'aînés bénévoles chargés d'offrir leur assistance aux victimes les plus vulnérables.

En 2001, la GRC officialise sa collaboration avec PhoneBusters par l'entremise d'un protocole d'entente; le programme est alors rebaptisé Centre national d'appels PhoneBusters (CNAP). En 2002, on ajoute un volet d'analyse au Groupe du renseignement afin d'optimiser la valeur des données recueillies. En 2006, le Bureau de la concurrence du Canada officialise sa participation en tant que troisième partenaire du CNAP, de façon à ajouter un volet de pratiques commerciales trompeuses au mandat. Toujours en 2006, l'Association canadienne des chefs de police reconnaît officiellement, par l'entremise de la résolution 9, le CNAP en tant que registre central national en matière de fraude.

Vers la fin de 2009, le CNAP intègre des initiatives de répression à ses activités de lutte à la fraude, notamment en amorçant un partenariat avec des entreprises afin d'entraver les activités des fraudeurs.

En 2010, le CNAP est rebaptisé Centre antifraude du Canada (CAFC) dans le but de refléter la nature nationale de son mandat et le fait que son mandat englobe beaucoup plus que les fraudes par télémarketing, s'étendant à de nombreuses formes de fraudes en marketing de masse. On redessine le logo ainsi que les pages Web pour refléter le nouveau mandat.

Chaque année, le CAFC signale en moyenne 5 800 numéros de téléphone et 16 000 comptes courriel utilisés par les fraudeurs aux fournisseurs de service afin que ces derniers les examinent pour éventuellement les annuler. Parmi les autres mesures de répression mises en oeuvre depuis 2010, on a signalé aux fournisseurs de service près de 800 comptes de carte de crédit de commerçants, de 9 000 comptes de carte de crédit particuliers, de 1 000 comptes bancaires, de 120 sites Web et de 230 comptes d'annonces classées en ligne, afin qu'ils prennent des mesures à leur égard. Cette collaboration avec les partenaires a permis de prévenir des dizaines de milliers de fraudes et des pertes de plusieurs millions de dollars.

Aujourd'hui, le CAFC est reconnu dans le monde entier pour ses pratiques exemplaires et il inspire de nombreux pays à emboîter le pas en créant leur propre centre de données sur la fraude. Le CAFC reçoit des appels du pays et de l'étranger à raison de 150 000 demandes d'intervention qui donnent lieu à plus de 50 000 plaintes de victimes annuellement. En outre, il reçoit environ 1 200 demandes par courriel au quotidien.

Date de modification :